Archiving and deleting are two methods to remove an asset from use in your Cascade site.

Archive Assets in Cascade

Archiving is not an official action, but is an alternative to deleting. Archiving an asset effectively moves the asset into a folder that is configured to not be able to be published or indexed. This can be helpful if you may need to reference or republish an asset in the future.

How to Archive an Asset

  1. Open the asset in the preview pane
  2. Check if the asset is being linked to by checking its relationships
    1. Click More > Relationships
    2. If there are any relationships, go to those assets and unlink them from the asset you are unpublishing
  3. If the asset you are archiving is a page: Prevent the page from being published and listed on the sitemap in the future
    1. Click Edit and navigate to the Configure tab
    2. Uncheck “include when indexing” and “include when publishing”
    3. Click Preview Draft
    4. Click Submit and enter in version comments
    5. Click Submit
  4. Move the asset to the _archive folder
    1. Navigate back to the asset and open it in the preview pane
    2. Click More > Move
    3. Click the button beneath “New Folder” and use the Choose a Folder menu to navigate to and select the _archive folder
    4. Click Choose
    5. Click Move

Delete Assets in Cascade

The delete action will delete an asset and move it into the Cascade site’s trash, which by default retains assets for 15 days. Only site administrators can delete assets.

How to Delete an Asset

  1. Open the asset in the preview pane
  2. Check if the asset is being linked to by checking its relationships
    1. Click More > Relationships
    2. If there are any relationships, go to those assets and unlink them from the asset you are deleting
  3. Delete the asset
    1. Navigate back to the asset and open it in the preview pane
    2. Click More > Delete