Workflows
Learn about optional steps you can assign to content to help maintain quality assurance on your website.

A workflow is a series of steps that content must go through before it can be created, edited, copied, moved, renamed, and/or deleted by users in Cascade CMS. Workflows are optional, but can help make it easier to maintain quality assurance on your website by automating multistep processes.
Available Workflows
The following workflows are available to be added to your Aggie UX Cascade instance.
Publish Workflow
The publish workflow enables you to publish all related assets when you make a change to an asset.
In practice, this means you don’t have to know how different assets are related to each other — Cascade is figuring this out for you.
Without this workflow, when you make a change to an asset, you would need to go to each related asset and publish them individually. This is critical for assets that are referenced in multiple places, such as the navigation, page names, directory photos, and more.
Trust us — this workflow makes your life easier.
Move / Rename Workflow
The move / rename workflow enables you to to move or rename files without breaking links. You can also use this workflow to archive pages by moving a page or file to the _archive folder.
This workflow will republish any pages that reference the page you are renaming or moving so that no broken links will appear on your live site.
Mega Menu Workflow
The mega menu workflow is a shortcut to republish your site when you make changes to your navigation.
You can assign this workflow to your publisher group to allow them to make updates to the navigation and then republish the whole site. You can configure this workflow to either require approval from a site admin before publishing or simply notify site admins when it is used.
Approval Workflow
The approval workflow adds in a step in the publishing process between Submit and Publish that sends a page to a designated approver to approve changes to the asset before it can be published.
The approval workflow is optional. You can request it with a new Aggie UX site request or email web@tamu.edu if you want to enable it after your site is created.
Adding and Removing Workflows
Site administrators can add workflows to their Cascade sites. By default, no workflows are enabled.
How to Add a Workflow to a Folder
- Open the desired folder in the preview pane
- Right click the folder name in the left-hand site content panel
- Click More > Workflows
- Assign a workflow to the folder
- Click Choose Workflow Definition
- Browse to workflows in the right-hand side panel (Workflow Definitions)
- Select a workflow
- Make sure all assets within the folder are required to go through the workflow
- Choose Yes under “Require Workflow on all contained assets”
- Check “Apply setting to all contained folders”
- Click Submit
How to Remove a Workflow from a Folder
- Open the desired folder in the preview pane
- Right click the folder name in the left-hand site content panel
- Click More > Workflows
- Click the red X mark on the assigned workflow
- Choose No under “Require Workflow on all contained assets”
- Check “Apply setting to all contained folders”
- Click Submit